Are my dahlias still alive after being taken indoors for winter

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9-10a
Country
United Kingdom
They're in 10 litre pots and I put them in the garage in November and brought them out last week since its been mild, its my first year having them so I'm not sure if this is normal but the pruned stem looks a bit dead is this how its supposed to look like

Attachments

• IMG_20190221_092529.jpg
    IMG_20190221_092529.jpg
    203.2 KB · Views: 304
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, it might be a bit early for bringing them out i would wait for the last frost to pass late March, yes it perfectly normal for last years growth to die they will throw up new shoots when there ready, dont forget we had snow mid march last year.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9-10a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, it might be a bit early for bringing them out i would wait for the last frost to pass late March, yes it perfectly normal for last years growth to die they will throw up new shoots when there ready, dont forget we had snow mid march last year.

Ok thanks, I moved house over winter and there's no where I can put them to keep them out of the frost unfortunately that's why they're outside now, are you supposed to cut off the dead shoot once the new growth starts

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi most people dig the tubers up and store them over winter i am no expert far from it have a read here it should help, a more experienced member should be able to help you more good luck with them.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9-10a
Country
United Kingdom
Ah ok, I thought since they were in pots that bringing them inside would work too, next winter I'll dig them up then

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ah ok, I thought since they were in pots that bringing them inside would work too, next winter I'll dig them up then