Anyone know how to grow grass in the desert?

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
I love ‘winters’ in Phoenix because my backyard turns into a deep, dark green from my winter rye, and it has survived considerably longer this year due to lower temps, but is now dying out. Any advice for seeding come fall/winter/next spring to help with the transition from rye to ? (Currently using Bermuda).

Attachments

• EE2F6DF9-AC86-4670-BEE0-78A88BA024C9.jpeg
    EE2F6DF9-AC86-4670-BEE0-78A88BA024C9.jpeg
    305.6 KB · Views: 167
  • 7EB0164E-3EFC-447A-A44E-095FFC49E477.jpeg
    7EB0164E-3EFC-447A-A44E-095FFC49E477.jpeg
    287.5 KB · Views: 166
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I love ‘winters’ in Phoenix because my backyard turns into a deep, dark green from my winter rye, and it has survived considerably longer this year due to lower temps, but is now dying out. Any advice for seeding come fall/winter/next spring to help with the transition from rye to ? (Currently using Bermuda).
Bermuda is the main lawn grass here with St. Ausgustine a close second. It will stay green with a lot of water and turns brown with a lack of water but it won't die because of it. St. Augustine will die. My advise would be to start watering your bermuda while the rye is still green and hope for early warm weather.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Try a zoysia hybrid for summer heat. Titan Rx hybrid fescue handles heat South of Atlanta but your heat may be another level.

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Try a zoysia hybrid for summer heat. Titan Rx hybrid fescue handles heat South of Atlanta but your heat may be another level.
Only problem is there is a lot of humidity in ATL, not so much in PHX.

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States