Any way to ID seedlings early?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Hi!
I have a bunch of seedlings sprouting up in a garden of a house I just bought a few months ago. I ripped most of the garden out (it was basically dead by the time I moved in *sad*) but figured I'd have a few sprouts from any leftovers once spring hit.
We finally have some spring weather! Yay! There's not as many sprouts as I'd thought but still a few! I might want to keep them but I'm new to this and don't know how to identify them.
Anyone have a helpful website/app that they use? Or is there anyone here that is an *ExPeRt* seedling identifier? If so, I'll post some photos of them!

BONUS QUESTION: I have a shit ton of either garlic or scallions sprouting up, how do i know the difference? They look similar to me?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It is difficult with seedlings if you have no idea what they might be. At the young stage you might be able to transplant so you have similar ones together in a place where they won't interfere with other things you are doing.
Bonus question
It is always difficult to tell across continents (I am in England) but I would expect garlic to have sprouted some time ago, on the other hand there are a good few plants in that family, edibles and ornamentals, which look similar. Have you tried pinching and smelling them

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
It is difficult with seedlings if you have no idea what they might be. At the young stage you might be able to transplant so you have similar ones together in a place where they won't interfere with other things you are doing.
Bonus question
It is always difficult to tell across continents (I am in England) but I would expect garlic to have sprouted some time ago, on the other hand there are a good few plants in that family, edibles and ornamentals, which look similar. Have you tried pinching and smelling them