Am I composting?

Fae

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
So, outside I've got an old strawberry container I've been filling with scraps. The container is a recyclable plastic with holes all through it.
In it, I have.. two rotted tomatoes that I smashed up, the used leaves from used green tea bags, the used leaves from a loose leaf tea, used coffee grounds, bad seedlings or excess seedlings, lemongrass trimmings, lilac petals, cut up lemon slices from beverages and a little bit of soil (very small amount).
Is this considered composting? If so, does it work like fertilizer/plant food and when can I use it? Sorry if these are silly questions, I'm a bit new to this.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
So, outside I've got an old strawberry container I've been filling with scraps. The container is a recyclable plastic with holes all through it.
In it, I have.. two rotted tomatoes that I smashed up, the used leaves from used green tea bags, the used leaves from a loose leaf tea, used coffee grounds, bad seedlings or excess seedlings, lemongrass trimmings, lilac petals, cut up lemon slices from beverages and a little bit of soil (very small amount).
Is this considered composting? If so, does it work like fertilizer/plant food and when can I use it? Sorry if these are silly questions, I'm a bit new to this.
Yep, that is compost. Just keep adding to it and before too long you will have useable compost. If you have any stale beer or sodas pour that on it and it will help the other stuff decompose faster.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Not at all a silly question! Yes this is composting...but for compost to "heat up" and break down into the crumbly black gold that assimilates right into the soil, ideally you need a pile at least 3x3 feet wide and deep.

But just about any organic waste matter will break down in time and it never hurts to add it to your garden soil.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country