A tool that can remove grass cutting from the lawn

LGY

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I am a newbie to lawn care and need some advice on lawn care. We’ve got two small lawns and we are using manual lawn mower for them, together with a pair of shears to trim the edges. We tried to avoid any electrical/gas stuff as I am very clumsy. We bought that back grass collecting tray thing but that’s useless as it drags on the grass when slow down and can’t cut well otherwise. So imagine each pass and the left over grass just left on top. For the past year, we have been trying to use a leave rake, and bloom and a tray to pick up the left overs. I am not sure if the rake is the best option as it might claw and damage the root(?)

We also have a crape myrtle in the middle of one of the lawn in case that matters.

thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A rake will not damage the grass, and if you want to remove it a grass rake is best.
1617488275578.png
one like this is great.
If there isn`t much there to collect, it is a good idea to leave it on the grass as it will feed the grass for you and make it better ;)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Keir Hardy
Country
United Kingdom
I've a Flymo Ultraglide, it's a few years old, (like seven or eight) it has a fan at the back as big as the blade and picks up most of the cut grass as long as it isn't too long.
Some bad reports from people who can't be bothered to mow their lawn often enough and expect too much.

i use a strimmer for "edging" where the lawn meets the path om the right. On the left there's brick edging, the Flymo just passes over the bricks as it cuts the grass.

P1040413.JPG

LGY

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks Tetters.