Window Garden

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi!

I'm new to the thread but am so excited to have found it! I have tons of gardening questions but I'll start with the one that is most important to my family.

I've been wanting to make a window garden for quite a while now. My windows expand anywhere from 5 feet (facing south) to about 2.5 feet (facing north). The largest window is the one I'd like to start with but I have a few reserves.

I would only be able to put brackets on either side of the of each window, with the shelves resting on top of each. I am worried about the the weight of potted plants creating a significant bow in the wood; or if I used a glass shelf, I'm worried about it breaking.

I'd like to grow plants that will be medium size; from leafy greens to herbs and possibly some flowers. I'm nervous about fruit fries, my apartment complex is prone to them. Is there anything I can do to prevent these? Are there some types of herbs and greens that do better indoors than out?

Also, will having a plant so close to the window during wintertime negatively affect it?

I know this is a lot of questions but thank you and I look forward to learning a lot from this forum!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Where are you located? Temps and sunlight vary. Fruit flies are common in the south and easy to control. They lay their eggs in the soil, then emerge and fly around. Use Spinosad as a soil drench and spray and that will take care of them. As for the window box goes I am clueless. Others on this forum are much more knowledgeable about such things

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks for the advice!

Yes, I am definitely in the south, more specifically, zone 7a.

Would a spray for them be organic? I guess I should have mentioned I am trying to go organic.