Tomato plants!

Reaction score
I have been reading many "tricks" to get tomato plants to yield more. Are there any tricks that you have tried that actually work?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I have been reading many "tricks" to get tomato plants to yield more. Are there any tricks that you have tried that actually work?
I don't know of any "tricks". I do know of some methods that will assure you of a good crop. Adherence to organic principles is a beginning to successful production

Reaction score
When I plant them I throw a moistened mix of peat moss, top soil, and processed cow manure in the hole. The mixture, which I call tomato glop, is really wet and I give each plant a good helping. I have never had a tomato plant fail on me and I have been growing them for over forty years.

Reaction score
Chuck: I have read if you spray a mixture of Epsom salt and water onto the plants it is supposed to help to get more. I have also been doing research about different fertilizers but there seems to be so many and I really like the thought of less harmful stuff on the tomatoes.

Reaction score
Head Full of Bees: I actually live in Minnesota so the growing season is pretty short compared to other places. I have never heard of Espalier. What is it?

Reaction score
Firelilly99: Thank you so much for the suggestion. This sounds like something I am very willing to try. I already have my tomatoes planted but do you think this could be something I could work into the ground around the plant and then water it into the ground?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Chuck: I have read if you spray a mixture of Epsom salt and water onto the plants it is supposed to help to get more. I have also been doing research about different fertilizers but there seems to be so many and I really like the thought of less harmful stuff on the tomatoes.