Painting My Thumb Green

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hey everyone.

I'm not very good at these, but I'll try.
I also have my son hanging off me, as it's high time we go to bed, so I'll likely not be able to squeeze as most posts as I'd have liked in right away.

My name is Saif. I'm a 26 year old, father and husband, from Melbourne, Australia.
I'm an amatuer gardener., which sucks as I have a deep desire to grow as much food as I can myself. For the sake of accomplishment, sustainability and I guess price is a factor as well.

At the moment I'm growing a few things, as our Spring has just Sprung.
Corn, Kohl Rabi, Lettuce, Tomato (a few heirloom varieties), Rockmelon, Watermelon, Mexican Gherkins and a few others bits and bobs.

Looks like a fantastic forum.
Can't wait to fully engage with you all.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Welcome to the forum!

As you kow, we here in Canada are just starting toward winter. How I wish we were approaching spring again!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome to the forum Saif! (y)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines
My advice to a new gardener is to take it easy. Since you already have crops in your garden, what you can do is to observe the growth of your plants. Experiment with the irrigation to determine the amount of water needed by each plant. There are vegetables that drown with too much water. Lettuce is nice to raise since it grows quickly but you have to be on the lookout for pests that would eat the leaves. Good luck and we will await the photos of your harvest.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome Saif. :) If you're already growing some vegetables then you know the basics and it won't take you long to expand your knowledge. Members here will be ready to help you along the way.

Reaction score