Organic Compost? Organic produce? Is It Really?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Hello, I am from Kansas City, Mo. I am starting a garden this year, as I have just relocated.

I have been trying to find a source or truly organic compost in my area. I have found several on-line but all of them use questionable sources for their composting.

Specifically they cannot assure me that the material they compost has never had pesticides or herbicides sprayed on it previously. I know there are claims that hot composting destroys these horrid chemicals, but some are what are known as "persistent" and do not break down so easily. Ultimately I wish to compost at home, but as I stated I am just getting started.

Another concern is manures from livestock. Chickens raised commercially have antibiotics, hormones and even arsenic (for harder egg shells) added. Similarly beef that is not free range has antibiotics and hormones added. Let's face it is near impossible I assume to collect manure from free range animals.

So is there anything truly organic in organic gardening?

****GMO=Gross Monsanto Organism (Genetically Modified organism)
I know a lot of people suggest adding cotton burr to soil in my area, but this is most likely GMO cotton and most assuredly has had tons of pesticides sprayed on it prior to harvest. I am not sure where to go from here...it seems to me organic is really hard to come by even in the home garden. If I am having trouble locating organic sources, what about "commercial" organic farmers...is their produce really organic?

I am considering using peat moss to add organic material and add material to the beds mixed in and using amendments such as guanos when the need arises. I will be using a rototiller to mix up stuff and adding leaf and grass clippings to feed the worms. Possible sulfur to bring down the PH.

I am interested to hear other's thoughts.

Thank you, Jeff

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country