Neighbor gave us greens

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Hi.... Our neighbor have us these greens. I think it's a type of lettuce but could anyone identify it for me? They don't speak very much English so they didn't understand my question when I tried to ask them....

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    195.3 KB · Views: 241
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Then it isn't lettuce or at least any lettuce I have ever seen. Pinch off a little bit and see what the texture is and what it tastes like. If good eat as is, if not blanch it

It does taste pretty good as is. Will probably use it in a garden salad. Thanks for the help.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5
Country
Canada
I t looks like Lettuce Little Gem. This is my first year for growing it. It is similar to a miniature Romaine lettuce. Serving size for two and touted to be excellent.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Where are your neighbors from? I wonder if you could image-search greens + their country of origin to try to identify them? I have clients from quite a few countries and some will bring seeds of vegetables I can't identify to grow here. Maybe try communicating an interest for a recipe would help..got recipe books, or pull recipes up on a mobile device? I think that format would be well understood globally.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Where are your neighbors from? I wonder if you could image-search greens + their country of origin to try to identify them? I have clients from quite a few countries and some will bring seeds of vegetables I can't identify to grow here. Maybe try communicating an interest for a recipe would help..got recipe books, or pull recipes up on a mobile device? I think that format would be well understood globally.