Moved into a new home with no experience - how to care for/maintain these plants?

Reaction score
Country
Canada
i recently bought my first house with a backyard. I have no experience with yard care or anything.. I have these big bushy plants in the back and front yard, my coworker told me they are perrenials.. Amongst others. I need advice how to care for these! The grass is so long and bushy I want to trim them back. Also the stems have turned brown.
Also, I live in AB, Canada so winter will be here soon!

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    115.9 KB · Views: 352
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Welcome! We are probably in similar growing zones.

Can't quite identify what you have there, but the foliage will be transporting goodness to the root system via photosynthesis until frost, most likely. That makes for stronger plants.

So I would leave it all be until your first hard frost, then cut everything back. A good covering of organic (bark, straw) mulch right at the end of the growing season certainly will not hurt, as it will break down and enrich your soil over winter.

Reaction score
Country
Canada
You need to take closer shots of the plants for us to determine what they are.

Here's a few shots ! Hopefully you can tell what kind they are :)

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    370.2 KB · Views: 296
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    310.4 KB · Views: 286
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    318.2 KB · Views: 314
Reaction score
Country
Canada
Welcome! We are probably in similar growing zones.

Can't quite identify what you have there, but the foliage will be transporting goodness to the root system via photosynthesis until frost, most likely. That makes for stronger plants.

So I would leave it all be until your first hard frost, then cut everything back. A good covering of organic (bark, straw) mulch right at the end of the growing season certainly will not hurt, as it will break down and enrich your soil over winter.