June Balcony Garden Problems- Need Help

cschiavoni

Caitlin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
As many of you know I'm completely new to gardening and this is the first time I've tried growing my own food. All of my plants have been growing quickly and beautifully but recently a couple of issues have popped up and I'm looking for advice as to how to resolve them. I felt I was over watering for the first week or so after planting everything (beginning to mid June) but we've have lots of rain and thunderstorms so they've been getting a lot of water regardless. Temperatures have been hitting 85-95 here in DC the last few weeks with night time lows 65-75.

Firstly, I have noticed a large number of tiny flies or gnats in and around the soil, and some on the plants. When I touch the soil they buzz up and I can clearly see 5-15 but it's hard to get pictures. These were my attempts:

Basil seems really sad. Normally only doing this during the hottest part of the day and will perk up later, but is that normal?

Now onto the tomatoes. I'm having problems with all three plants (Roma, better boy, and the cherry).

Better boy leaves just won't perk up:

Lots of things I don't like on the cherry tomato leaves:

And just a few of the Roma leaves starting to show signs:

Help please!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
OK there are much more knowlegeable people than me here but this is my take.

Little flies: No clue. They may even be harmless. Soapy water rids most plants of pests (check the undersides of the leaves too.)

Basil: Sick. I grow it every year in a container and have yet to see it wilt, or be eaten by anything. Stuff seems bullet-proof. I never water mine and it goes and goes all summer. Do you water yours? If it is getting rained on it probably doesn't need more.

Tomatoes: Early blight, its a fungus in the soil and exacerbated by over-watering. Image-google early blight.