Is growing your own fruit worth it, for self sufficiency purposes?

Reaction score
I would have thought that the large amount of nutrients that an apple tree for example, saps from the surrounding soil, that it would not be worth growing your own fruits, for self sufficiency purposes anyway. Of course it's nice to have them, but I would have thought that the added investment required to replenish the soil made it not worthwhile. I'm relatively new to gardening, so I may be wrong, but I've always wondered about this.

Reaction score
I think apple trees are relatively easy to grow. Adding phosphorus and potassium will ensure that the soil is adequate for growth. Using a fertilizer in the spring before the tree buds is a good idea as well. I have a pear tree in my yard and basically just leave it alone and it does fine. Well, we made the mistake of not watering it enough this summer when it was so hot and didn't rain, so the crop wasn't all that great, but that was just a basic mistake. lol It was actually too hot most of the time to go out there. Oops.

Reaction score
I think I said this in another thread, I have LOTS of FREE fertilizer, if you want some stop on by, with your bags and shovels!! We will be growing trees right and left!! :D

Reaction score
Fruit is very well worth growing - and trees in particular. I'm not sure about the dwarf rootstock, but ordinary trees take their nutrients from the subsoil, not the soil itself, so they're accessing nutrients not available to any other sort of crop. And when their leaves eventually fall off, they improve the soil as long as you add them to your leaf bin and let them compost down.

Fruit does in general take nutrients from the ordinary soil, its true - but thats the point, its nutritious, and the micronutrients such as trace elements, vitamins we need in very small doses, enzymes, all sorts of things - we need a wide variety. Our ancestors certainly ate fruit, and we should eat some if we possibly can.