I have heard that the UK is being hammered by high winds, and most of the US is having freezing rain

Reaction score
How are you folks making out? Are you having any problems due to the bad weather?

We were lucky: the freezing rain turned to snow early enough so that my area kept its power. Various areas around the USA were not so lucky! And, I have heard that many people in the Northern UK have lost their power as well due to high winds?

My son had to cancel meeting his friends on Sunday as they said they could not come, and my car does not have snow tires on it and so I refused to take it out on ice. After working in health care for many years I am a very good driver on ice, as patients need care even when the weather is bad, but my husband chose the tires on the car! The grip on those tires is not very agressive, so I told my son that I could not take him to meet his friends. He was very quiet all morning, but in the afternoon he perked up because, after all, Christmas is almost here!

The storm has passed and the snow plows have cleared and salted the streets, so I can now go out even though it is extremely cold!

So, other than a cancelled get-together for my son, we have made out OK. I had the snow shovel at my front door before the snow began and the ice melt was in the house, so we were better prepared for this storm!

How are you other folks in the UK and USA doing? Are you having any big problems with this terrible weather?

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Rain coming in sideways, getting in places its never done before. Went out to the garden centre earlier, buckets all over the shop catching leaks from the roof, same in the local shop.

On the way back had to drive slowly thru loads of floods, water pouring off the fields onto the roads.

The levels look like a sea.

Took this yesterday, don't know what its gonna be like in the morning.

DSCF0017 (2).JPG