Hi from North Carolina!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Hi y'all! I'm Amber and I'm from Texas but have been living in North Carolina for a little over a year thanks to my husband's job in the Army. This is my first year gardening here. Or ever, at least on my own. I used to help my dad in the garden a little bit but not enough to say it was my garden. I don't have a ton of experience, basically. I'm hoping my garden is successful this year, especially my tomatoes. But...well, that is a different post for a different section.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Welcome, Homie. Enjoy your time away, enjoy in the differences. I had a friend who was a die-hard Texas native who swore this was the only place to live....until she started traveling for her husband's job. She sings a different tune these days.

I'm not at all a scientific gardener. The main thing is prepare good soil (I have a small raised bed and throw in a bag of cow manure, some compost material, and some Miracle Grow Moisture control that gets lots of morning sun and some afternoon sun...(I did tell you that I wasn't scientific, didn't I?) and all has gone well with me for some 5 years now. I grow 'maters, cukes, sugar snaps ('cause they're so easy and kids like it), and bells (this late in the season, I'd suggest you purchase small pepper plants because they are slow growers from seed). Okra was easy for me (I don't eat it, though), as was corn but that was just a joke; I was growing it on my driveway and I got a few small ears of corn).

I had a larger plot (three 5 x 5 beds) but this year, am going compact with a 6 x 8 bed. Just have fun. Something will grow.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Welcome, Homie. Enjoy your time away, enjoy in the differences. I had a friend who was a die-hard Texas native who swore this was the only place to live....until she started traveling for her husband's job. She sings a different tune these days.