Heat wave taking a huge toll on me and my plants

cschiavoni

Caitlin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
We've had about a week of 95-105 degree temps here with very hot nights, and when it rains it comes in the form of damaging thunderstorms, twice with hail. My plants have been hit with an array of problems, from excessive wilting, to getting tons of leaf damage from hail, fungus problems from too much water (often storms would hit right after I watered, we have limited warning when it comes to these afternoon storms), blossoms dropping, blossom end rot in my baby tomatoes, fruit production halting in most cases with the exception of my peppers and eggplant.

This is my first year gardening and I'm pretty bummed. I knew it wasn't going to be easy but I'm scared my plants won't be able to bounce back after this. I trimmed off a lot of dead leaves and stems today (like a LOT), added calcium to correct PH imbalance, applied a liberal amount of neem oil and cleaned up the soil around each plant.

I want to water them because it's so hot but I'm scared I'm just going to over water them even more than I have been. Should I just let the storms do it for me? I did order actual mulch to lay down in a couple of days (I should have done this long ago, but there's my inexperience showing).

Anyways I've attached some pictures of what everything looks like after my trimming work today as well as pictures showing some of what I trimmed off. Any insight, tips, advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. This heat wave is driving me nuts.

Biggest problem is with all my tomato plants, especially the cherry tomatoes. After trimming off stuff today it looks miserable. Here's a picture of some of what I trimmed off:

Here is what it looks like now (so sad):

Other fungal problem is with my zucchini and straightneck squash plants. I trimmed off most of the leaves that looked like this:

Here is the zucchini plant currently: