Hanging plants

Reaction score
Country
United States
My mother loves hanging plants. She keeps some indoors and others outside. Last spring I went to a nursery to get her a hanging plant for Mother's Day and I noticed none of them were overly beautiful. They mostly were green plants with a few flowers here and there. I was disappointed because I wanted to get her a beautiful plant with a lot of flowers but there didn't seem to be any. Does anyone know if any good hanging plants that are full of flowers (flowers that last year round)?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
KimmyMarkks, I am not an expert when it comes to hanging flower plants, but I am good at figuring things out. How about a Black-Eyed Susan Vine (Thunburgia Alata)? It looks amazing to me in a hanging pot. The vines hang down and also crawl up the pot hangers! From what I have read, it responds well to pruning, is easy to care for, just give it some sunshine and well draining soil and you are rewarded with lush growth and profuse flowers. There are a couple different varieties. You can bring them in during the winter and hang them in front of a sunny window. Year round flowers!

These plants can easily be grown from seeds. It only takes 21 days for them to germinate and they grow quickly! How about that for a mothers day gift.

I'm actually going to order some myself because like you, my mother loves hanging plants and she will fall all over these.

Here are some pictures of this plant I found around the internet as well as the website where I get my seeds. You can get 25 seeds for $8.45 ( That is the price at check out with shipping figured in).

http://parkseed.com/black-eyed-susan-vine-seeds/p/01957-PK-P1/

02007-pk-p1.jpg

85bbf1e81e9f3b65473851348041ccba.jpg

01902-pk-p1.jpg

e62c460a9fd33eece300afa3000d8f65.jpg
042470ece6dfd481e461b1bd42c771e0.jpg
DSC05159.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines