Fruit peels

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
India
I wish we were taught to eat fruit with the peel, when we were kids. Today I do not relish any fruit without peeling it except may be applies. Apart from making marmalade from orange peels I have no knowledge of peels being used for anything else.
I just came to know that citrus peels are dipped in chocolate. I am not sure if they are dried peels.
Chocolate_coated_citrus_peel_01 (2).jpg

Image credit http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Chocolate_coated_citrus_peel_01.jpg

What is your experience with fruit peels.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Oh, I LOVE them, dipped in dark chocolate. There's a grocery chain store here called Trader Joes; they have them. Also chocolate-dipped mango slices.
Never tried to make them myself, I guess they'd have to be maybe boiled or preserved somehow first to make them not too bitter and tough.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I didn't know that you can use the peel for that purpose either. I have known that some people using banana peel to rub on their dark spots and it lightened up, but other than that, I am clueless!

Pat

Reaction score
Country
United States
I like to eat the peel of the orange and lemon often I do not peel the fruit I just eat the whole thing. I do get looks from other people but I like the peels.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
India
Oh, I LOVE them, dipped in dark chocolate. There's a grocery chain store here called Trader Joes; they have them. Also chocolate-dipped mango slices.
Never tried to make them myself, I guess they'd have to be maybe boiled or preserved somehow first to make them not too bitter and tough.
Now I am getting tempted to try it out myself :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
I think marmalade! Hmmm, now I think I'll experiment with different peels that are not typically put up in marmalade.