Fertilizing Help for Unknown Plants

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello! Moved into a new house two months ago (Cleveland area in Ohio) which has 2+acres of wooded/beautifully landscaped yard. The woman who lived here before us knew A LOT about plants and she spent 12 hours a day in her garden (the neighbors told us). Anyway, the yard was pretty overgrown so I have been working on cleaning up a bit, but now is the time to fertilize as the yard has been neglected while vacant the last couple years.

QUESTION: The garden center gave me Plant Tone Fertilizer and Holly Tone Fertilizer. Some of the plants in the yard are marked and many are not. How the heck do I figure out which fertilizer to use on which plants??? I am new to gardening and LOVE it, but have so much to learn. I don't even know what I can trip at this point or what needs to wait for fall..so many vines in yard and many different kinds of unique plants.

Thanks in advance for the help! I will start posting photos very soon..

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Brittany, how fortunate you are to have a landscaped yard just waiting for you to enjoy!
Until you get the plants identified, don't fertilize. Post photos here and someone will be able to help identify them. Applying the wrong fertilizer at the wrong time can seriously damage even established plants, so please hold off. You still have plenty of time to do spring fertilizing if needed.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Brittany, how fortunate you are to have a landscaped yard just waiting for you to enjoy!
Until you get the plants identified, don't fertilize. Post photos here and someone will be able to help identify them. Applying the wrong fertilizer at the wrong time can seriously damage even established plants, so please hold off. You still have plenty of time to do spring fertilizing if needed.