Elephant Ears...

Reaction score
Hi, y'all. I have a question that is one of the main reasons I joined this forum:

I happened to be in Wal-Mart last week and noticed there were two bulbs in their gardening department: an elephant ear and an elephant ear mammoth. According to their baggies, they are the same size in regards to how tall they will be, but the bulbs were two different sizes (the mammoth was larger). I've searched on the internet and asked around, and nobody seems to know the difference.

I was wondering if anyone here has any elephant ear expertise and could possibly help me discern which one I want and whether or not I should even get them from Wal-Mart (as my town has no garden specialty centers/IGCs.

Thanks in advance. Have a nice day. :)

Reaction score
I'm no expert but it probably won't make a difference. Plants will generally grow to their proscribed height and I have seen this happen with tulips and bulbs of varying sizes. Elephant ears are notoriously slow growing so my dad used to plant them inside in pots early to help them get a jump on things.

Pat

Reaction score
Country
United States
I don't know that there were size differences. I love the plant when It gets large enough to look like an umbrella. I am glad you posted as it is a reminder to me to get my plant now so that it will be ready to go in the yard when the weather changes.

Good luck.

Reaction score
There are hundreds of different varieties of what are commonly known as Elephant Ears in terms of both color and size - as well as those which require different growing conditions.

Unless you have a very large area in which you are planning to grow your Elephants Ears - I would suggest that you pick the smaller one - as there is a very large difference in size as well as required growing conditions - between the two most commonly sold varieties - which are

Colocasia Esculenta - Elephant Ears or Taro

elephant ears velvet_colocasia_container.jpg