Bucket Garden Questions!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 7a
Country
United States
I'm a renter of a home. I don't want to dig up the yard and recently discovered this brilliant thing called bucket farming!
Its where you take plants and plant them inside a bucket instead of the ground. problem: i'm not experienced in growing vegetables. I would love tips, advice, and everything you can throw at me!
I was planning to use the seed starters before moving outside to 5 pound buckets. Then lots of watering and what not and sunshine and that's about as far as my newbie garden knowledge ends. I have some questions like for example:
  • Can I grow wheat? Would a 5 gallon bucket of wheat grow at the least a cup of flour?
  • What could I grow in say a smaller container. Like a butter container? Is that too small?
  • I have a lot of cats in my area, would I have to worry about them attacking my garden?
  • Is rainwater better for plants then tap water from a well?
  • Can I move some of the buckets inside in the winter and just use a lamp to grow them?
  • Can I grow pumpkins or watermelons in a bucket?
  • Can I grow beans in a bucket?
  • Can I grow corn in a bucket?!
  • What kind of dirt do I have to use?
  • We have a large verity of spiders and I plan on using this for educational purposes as well as fun, my students won't go NEAR a spider. Is there any way to prevent garden spiders or is it something I don't have to worry about with bucket farming?
Probably more questions. I'm new here and I THINK this is where this post goes but if i'm wrong i'm sorry!
If you have any other tips or experience doing the same thing please do share with me.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines