DHB

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
United States
Peppers.jpg
Hello all,

I'm getting black spots that grow and turn brown on my immature bell peppers. It's only happening on one plant (the only one in a container, so maybe it's the soil although I tried to only put good stuff in there; compost, potting soil, etc.) The plant is otherwise the picture of health: lush foliage, bushy, and numerous little peppers growing and new flowers. I'm afraid it's some type of fungal infection, but haven't found much from searching the net.

There are also black areas in all of the "crotches" between the main stem and the branches on this plant, but as I'm new to gardening, I'm not sure if that's related, or normal, or something else altogether. Pic above. Any help would be much appreciated!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
too much water too often. Let them completely dry out and wilt. It won't do anything for the ones already affected nor the black lesions on the stem but in a couple of weeks things should be back to normal. Just don't water so often.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hi DHB. We are in similar climates (and we are having a dry summer and currently a heat wave.) :eek: As a data point, all my in-ground veggies get watered every 7-10 days even in this current weather. (Those in containers and straw bales more often.) The main garden is heavily mulched with straw and our soil is quite dense and rich which helps conserve H20. I checked it yesterday evening when it was still in the 90s; soil feels dry but nothing was wilting so I didn't water anything but the cucumbers - cukes like a bit more water than most veggies.

http://www.almanac.com/content/when-water-vegetables

This seems about right. We water each plant for about one full minute give or take; that amounts to 1-2 gallons per watering.

DHB

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
United States